Been to the War

November 20, 2007 at 4:46 pm 4 comments

I was at the Google Open Social presentation on Monday. I had registered before I ever went to Startup Weekend. There were at least a dozen Startup Weekend veterans there. There were also a few people that were only there on Friday night who I did not remember.

As I was watching the presentation, people kept coming up to me and saying Hi. The girl next to me said “Wow, you know a lot of people here”. I told her that I just met them on the weekend. I realized something on Monday. It had been about only 24 hours since I had seen many of these people but it was like we were old friends that had not seen each other in a long time.

I met some people that only attended on Friday night of Startup Weekend. That was nothing. I felt the same to them as I feel to anybody that hands me a card at a networking event. It is hard to explain to somebody that has not been to a Startup Weekend but I know that I was not the only person that felt that way. Over the weekend, 2 people asked me to be part of their startups and 1 person asked to be part of mine.

On the Friday of Startup weekend, I chatted with Andrew and he told me that it did not matter which idea we implemented. I thought that he was full of it. I was going to bail out if we had picked the wedding website idea . Personally, I am really happy with the idea we implemented. In hindsight, he was right.

It didn’t matter what idea we implemented. I met some incredibly talented people on the weekend. People that I would enjoy working with again. In full disclosure, I also met some people that annoyed me. However, when we met on Monday, we had been to the war together ( Silicon Valley sense).

Alvin

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

HelpHookup Presentation at Google Thanks to Andrew & Tyler

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Richard  |  November 20, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    I just wanted to take a moment to thank Andrew & Tyler for truly starting this exciting opportunity – it is an amazing thing that Andrew has started in StartupWeekend and will be something to watch in ’08 throughout the world.

    richard

    Reply
  • 2. Waleed  |  November 21, 2007 at 8:08 am

    That is so true, Alvin. I felt the same, and it was amazing how working together for 3 days builds such strong friendships. It feels like we’ve been friends for a long time.

    Reply
  • 3. Startup Weekend » Blog Archive » London This Weekend!  |  November 27, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    […] presentedt at the Google Open Social Event, Alvin had this to say: As I was watching the presentation, people kept coming up to me and saying Hi. The girl next to me […]

    Reply
  • 4. Elsie  |  February 19, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    Just saw this particular entry now, but I also felt the same way. That’s a great analogy Alvin! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Flickr Photos

CIMG9844

CIMG9842

CIMG9837

CIMG9832

CIMG9838

More Photos

Feeds


